The Electronic Geophysical Year: 2007-2008

Support and Participants

Who supports eGY?

eGY is an ICSU-endorsed initiative of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG), driven by the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA), under the chairmanship of Dan Baker (LASP).

eGY is supported by in-kind contributions from participating agencies and by grants from NASA and the US National Science Foundation.

eGY and the IYPE: February 20, 2005
CODATA Resolution: January 17, 2005
Senate Resolution: October 11, 2004
IPY and eGY: September 17, 2004
House Resolution: May 21, 2003

eGY Participants

Signatories and participants in eGY are drawn from:

  • National Academies of Science
  • National CODATA Committees
  • "International Year" initiative linked to the 50-year anniversary of IGY: IPY, IYPE, IHY, ILWS, CAWSES
  • Geoscience Societies such as the European Geosciences Union (EGU)
  • e-Science and digital network and digital library initiatives
  • ICSU
  • The GeoUnions is a new consortium for the Earth sciences comprising:
    • IUGG-International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics
    • IUGS-International Union of Geological Sciences
    • IUSS-International Union of Social Sciences
    • IGU-International Geographical Union
    • ISPRS-International Soc. for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing
  • The World Data Centers
  • Global Observing bodies and programs (e.g., IGOSS, GEOS)
  • Science organizations: SCOSTEP, CODATA, etc.

List of Current Endorsements